Where From Here?

Memori

Sep 22, 2006
Mum does not think she has anything wrong, she is getting very confused and thinks that she has been out and had visitors when I have been in the house and know its not true, she even gets muddled about who I am at times, and about whose house she is in and thinks that she still lives where she did as a child. I cannot get her to see that it is a problem, I have got a form to fill in to be her carer and tried to discuss this with her, but she just says that she can go out and do her shopping and we dont need that, she does not realise that I have been doing all her shopping for the last four months,and the only time she has been out was when she wandered at night and was brought home, I do all the cooking when I am with her, I hope she eats when I am not there but as she forgets what she has eaten I have to hope for the best, I have not filled the form in yet as I feel I am betraying her in some way to do so against her wishes, her doctor said to sort out poa but Mum will not have anything to do with that, social services are coming to see her but I know she will not want any help they offer and it is going to cause distress to her and she will probably blame me, should I do things behind her back? I know it might come to the point when I have to but how long should I put it off?

Cate

Jul 2, 2006
Newport, Gwent
Hi Memori

Sadly all you have been saying about your mum is very typical, and there are no right or wrong answers.

I for one tell mum fibs all the time. I used to try and correct her when she was confused, but I have stopped doing that now, it only made her feel stupid, and in any event, she would simply forget what I had told her in no time at all.