Update and hoping for advice

Aloysius

Aug 19, 2014
Folkestone
Hello, it's a while since I've been on TP. To cut a long story short, my mum has vascular dementia and she was living in semi-sheltered accommodation 150 miles away from me, her only child, until January. She had not really coped with independent living for two years though the deterioration was, like so often,insidious. After a very difficult Christmas (Mum had very upsetting delusions, a UTI and I had bronchitis) I managed to get her into respite but it was/is in the same city as her flat and she's still that long distance away.

The respite was made permanent after a Best Interests meeting and at first I felt mostly enormous relief as she was no longer at risk. Now, however, it's not so good. I work full time as a teacher and can't get there every weekend. On the phone, Mum is quite incoherent a lot of the time and muddled and she says how unhappy she is, she needs me etc. Today she asked if she had a home 'when I get out of here.' Her flat has, of course, had to be returned to the Housing Association.
Mum is not self-funding. Where she is is very reasonable (if homely) and the council are funding what her pension doesn't cover. How would I go about moving her nearer? She has a monthly income of about £1.4k all told but that's no way enough for most care, is it? Who do I approach about moving Mum? Is it a case of finding somewhere first or finding out how much funding she can have ? I feel upset about her being so far away (although it's still MUCH preferable to her being still in the flat)
I know there is such a thing as top-up fees although I'm 56, single and have no home of my own! Not good :confused:

Anyway,as usual, it's so nice to have somewhere to get the worries off my chest...

Aloysius x

Beate

May 21, 2014
London