TUDelft: Your experiences in money management are asked for.

pamelaasberg

May 19, 2017
The Netherlands
Dear all,

At first let me say thank you to all of you caring for someone who unluckily has Alzheimer’s. I’m not in the situation where I personally do, but I can imagine it is hard to see somebody change..

I’m a third year Bachelor student from the Netherlands (Technical University Delft might sound familiar) and I’m doing my final project on designing a product to support people with Dementia with their personal money management (when shopping).

I would like to ask you to reply to this post here on this forum with your experiences about the three situations. With your information and experiences I can help people with Dementia.

*Let me refer the person you know that has dementia as your friend.
1. How long has your friend been handling his or her own money management before giving it out of hands? (Examples: paying bills, paying by themselves in-stores and withdrawing money from the bank?)

2. In what way is your friend struggling when he or she is paying at the counter with either cash or card? (Examples: value of money, difference in coins and bills, getting confused?)

3. What might help or support your friend in handling his or her money management for a longer period of time? Do you use any creative way of making sure your friend does not struggle with handling money?

Please take the time to answer these questions, it would help me to design a more personal interaction product. Thank you all and have a good day!

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
Pamela many people on here will give a wry smile at your questions. My husband was diagnosed five years ago but lost appreciation and understanding of money long before that.

I will watch their replies with interest.

pamelaasberg

May 19, 2017
The Netherlands