trapped

njc

Jul 28, 2013
Thornham, Norfolk
Hi there,

I have been caring for a very dear lady for the last 12 years, who now has severe dementia and I am very fond of her but I am not a relative or a paid carer, I was a lodger in her home when she started developing the symptoms of the disease and slowly but surely I became her 'carer' in the absence of anyone else doing it, she has a poor relationship with her two children unfortunately and is devoted to me, I wash her, dress her, brush her teeth, cook her food, clean her house, mow her lawn, and am her constant companion, and for the most part she is very pleasant, but I dont know what will happen in the future, she hates the idea of a care home, cannot stand women generally and it seems I am the only person who has ever been a real friend to her, so she doesn't want me to go anywhere ever, I am completely trapped in this situation. In addition to this her children's attitude is that she should go to a care home, but I know if that happens it would completely destroy her.

Anyhow, on a lighter note, this morning at 5am I hear someone fiddling with the front door, thinking it is a burglar I leap from my bed, charge towards the door, ready to deal with the villain only to find my dear friend about to go for a walk... I have jammed the door at the moment so only I can open it, but what does everyone else do when faced with this problem?

thanks

Last edited:

angecmc

Dec 25, 2012
hertfordshire