Tracking

Faypar

Jul 23, 2017
Hi, my mum has recently been diagnosed with Alzheimer's and last week she wondered off for 7 hours before the police found her the other side of town. Can anyone recommend a tracking device, she doesn't own a mobile and gets a bit aggressive if we mention the Alzheimer's. Thank you

LadyA

Oct 19, 2009
Ireland
Hello Faypar and welcome. That must have been a harrowing experience, to have your mum missing so long. And of course there's the worry that it will happen again.

I've no experience of tracking devices, so can't recommend any particular one. But I know if you Google something like "tracking devices for people with dementia" it should get you somewhere. I've seen small GPS tracker "tiles" that can be attached to a keyring or slipped into a handbag, purse or pocket. I've never seen anything foolproof though. All of them depend on the person having the device with them when they go out!

Philbo

Feb 28, 2017
Kent
Hi, my mum has recently been diagnosed with Alzheimer's and last week she wondered off for 7 hours before the police found her the other side of town. Can anyone recommend a tracking device, she doesn't own a mobile and gets a bit aggressive if we mention the Alzheimer's. Thank you

Hi Faypar

I know that forum rules are against naming products or companies but it is difficult to respond to a such a request without doing so? So hopefully, this will be okay.

My wife has a Vega GPS watch, which is a little bit bulky but can be fitted with a strap that makes it easy to remove, or one that requires a little plastic thingy to unclasp it. (which is what she has). I believe you can either buy or rent but there are ongoing monitoring charges. We were lucky, as our local care navigator organisations (who partner our LA) provided it FOC.