Toilet obsessions

Maryicloud

Jan 30, 2020
Hi everyone, I am new to Talking Point, and am desperate for some help or advice. My husband was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s 4 years ago, we’ve muddled through pretty well until recently when there has been a sharp decline in his ability to function. The latest obsession is driving me mad, he visits the loo between 25/30 times a day, sometimes during the night too. We’ve had every test available, culminating in a colonoscopy 2 weeks ago, everything is negative, bloods fine, and I know he can’t “go” every time he visits the loo. At my wits end as to how to break this cycle. Has anyone else experienced this? He won’t leave the house “just in case”. HELP!! Any suggestions or explanation would be most welcome.

Louise7

Volunteer Host
Mar 25, 2016
Welcome to the forum. I haven't experienced the same thing but as a medical cause has been ruled out it sounds like it may be anxiety related, which is common in those with dementia. It might be worth speaking to the GP or memory clinic to request a medication review as there may be something they can give to help with the anxiety.

Quite contrary

Jan 5, 2020
Ilford, Essex
We don't have this problem at home yet but certainly when we are out there is much conversation about the toilet! If I leave him for few minutes, ie to make a purchase or go to the toilet myself it comes on and certainly before we leave anywhere. We have worked out that it is due to anxiety in general and especially fear of having an accident. I try to reassure him that if he 'goes' before we leave anywhere and we know where all the public toilets are (including places like pubs, McDonald's and supermarkets) everything will be fine.

Jaded'n'faded

Jan 23, 2019
High Peak
I also think this may be related to incontinence. Perhaps he's had a couple of accidents or 'near misses' and this has made him anxious.