Telling Others about my Alzheimer's

carrie99

Apr 26, 2009
Yorkshire
:cool:Having finally plucked up the courage to 'come out' about my Alzheimer's - done at a friends house while having a cup of tea,
I'd be very interested how others have broached the subject. It has already made my life better and I am joining new groups.
How have others managed this?

Carrie99

Last edited:

Vonny

Feb 3, 2009
Telford
Hi Carrie,

I have no experience of "coming out" but I want to congratulate you on doing just that and for joining new groups. I take my hat off to you.

Keep ringing them bells! :D

Vonny xx

nellbelles

Volunteer Host
Nov 6, 2008
leicester
I found it difficult to tell people that I had cancer and what difficulty that caused me..

Am so pleased that you could tell your friends, I hope they give you the support you need now and in the future.

Barry

Oct 14, 2006
Indonesia
Hi Carrie,

I was diagnosed with mixed dementia and Alzheimer’s over four and a half years ago, although I realized it even before my doctor and CT scan confirmed the problem, but I did not keep it to myself and told family and friends immediately ‘head on’ as its nothing to be ashamed of its just an illness that we can learn to live with by making some adjustment to our way of life, and your right to keep as active as you can with hobbies of any type, all though hand bell ringing would send me into complete confusion now as I would not know bell to ring the left or right!

The big thing to remember is that you’re not alone with this illness and that here on TP you will find a lot of friends in the same situation, so just keep tolling your bells as long as you can.:D:D

Barry

KenC

Mar 24, 2006
Co Durham
Hi Carrie

Its amazing the reaction we get from some people these days , when we tell them about this illness, as many do not understand the basics of it and still wrongly assume that it is contagious.