Struggling with mum being at end stage dementia

aray

Aug 22, 2015
Hi! This is my first post on this forum.
Mum has had dementia for ten years. She has fought it like a warrior! I am an occupational therapist and whilst I live in bristol and mum and dad a 3 hour journey away I have done my very best to support. Mum went into a nursing home 3 years ago when things eventually broke down at home. Dad had promised mum he would care for her and hid a lot until mum attacked him at night because she thought he was an intruder. Mum ended up in Leicester royal for 3 months and was bounced around various wards usually in the middle of the night when she had a heart attack I fought hard for her to go to a nursing home and eventually was placed in the only home close to my dad. Dad visited everyday but sadly 3 months later he was diagnosed with cancer and passed away suddenly. During last 3 years we have been making the best of things and taking mum out to cafes each time I visit has been Central to that. Outside of the home with me my sister neices and grandchildren she was much more orientated and even though the trips were eventful with mum and 3 young children to care we felt we still had mum. Then another resident pushed her over she went into hospital wee she was in bed for a week waiting tests unsuprisingly her mobility had deterrioratef on discharge and 3 days later she had an unwitnessed fall and broke her hip. She has not regained her mobility. For the last 3 months I have been fighting for her to have an assessment for an arm chair with pressure relief and some active pressure management. Sadly the innevitable has happened and she now has a pressure sore. She is no longer transferring out of bed and we can no longer take her out on our trips. I am really struggling with this. I keep crying and got sent home from work yesterday. I have seen a gp and they have directed me to Cruse .