Struggling to cope.

O/T H

Sep 2, 2018
Hi, this is my first post but I feel really desperate tonight and feel really alone.
My Mom was diagnosed with Vascular Dementia last December and has deteriorated quite quickly, we are so close and she’s more like a best friend to me and I’m really struggling as I feel her drifting further away from me. My Dad has a long list of health problems so I do my best to be there every day for usually about 5 hours after work to give him a break and cook the tea.
We are a small family, effectively just Mom, Dad, my brother and me and it is getting very difficult. I work as a Wellbeing Co-Ordinator in a mental health facility which I love but it can be very draining and I just feel that I’m so tired and emotional that I’m not functioning propery.This worries me as I have struggled with depression in the past. I feel annoyed with myself for the self pity and that in my previous job I cared for people with dementia and should be able to cope and know what to do for the best to take the pressure off.
Most of the time Mom doesn’t recognize my Dad and can be really nasty to him, this hurts him and hurts me, they’ve been married 56 years and have rarely been apart.
I know we need help but I’m so tired that I can’t think straight by the end of the day, if anyone could offer me words of support I would be so grateful.
With thanks.

nae sporran

Oct 29, 2014
Bristol
Welcome to Talking Point, @O/T H. I'm sorry your mum's condition has brought you here and brought you and your dad to a point of desperation and exhaustion.
Have you considered respite care, just getting your mum care in a Home for a week in order to allow you and your dad some sleep and space to think clearly. Some home care after that may give you some more time to yourself by getting someone else in to share the burden. Sorry if you have tried those and it didn't work.
You will get plenty of good advice and kind words on here, so keep in touch.

Last edited:

Izzy