1. Expert Q&A: Living well as a carer - Thurs 29 August, 3-4pm

As a carer for a person living with dementia, the needs of the person you care for will often come before your own. You may experience a range of difficult emotions and you may not have the time to do all the things you need to do. Caring can have a big impact on both your mental and physical health, as well as your overall wellbeing.

Angelo, our Knowledge Officer (Wellbeing) is our expert on this topic. He will be here to answer your questions on Thursday 29 August between 3-4pm.

You can either post questions >here< or email them to us at talkingpoint@alzheimers.org.uk and we'll answer as many as we can on the day.

1. Worriedsick

Worriedsick Registered User

Mar 4, 2013
    Being 77 years old and disabled myself I have been caring for my wife for almost 7 years now.
    I have found having to do all housework, cooking, shopping etc is getting more and more difficult for me.
    When I approached the local Social Services for help and advice and had to sign a form giving them access to our financial details.
    What I would like to know is this normal in these cases?

2. nae sporran

nae sporran Volunteer Host

Oct 29, 2014
    Male
    Bristol
    There are certainly financial limits on who can access care free and who has to pay, Worriedsick. https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/get-support/legal-financial/financial-assessment gives the full ins and outs of what will happen and why. I think the person from Social Services who assessed my partner only asked for recent bank statements and proof of income, but the rules may have changed.

3. witts1973

witts1973 Registered User

Jun 20, 2018
    Male
    Leamington Spa
    So did they ask who you
    As Nae sporran says I thought they would just ask for statements,did you sign something giving details of names of banks and account numbers?

4. Midow

Midow Registered User

Jun 13, 2017
    Wales