Results of MRI Scan

Margaret W

Apr 28, 2007
North Derbyshire
Hi all

Some of you may recall that my mum died in November, of pneumonia, but had suffered from Alzeimers for a few years.

I also suffered a stroke (TIA - very minor, no further symptoms since), 4 days before she died. I had various tests, and the MRI scan has come back that I have some brain deterioration. The consultant's letter says it is "non-specific" and no change is needed in my medication, but he is referring me to a Neurologist.

You can imagine that I am frightened to death. My husband read the letter and said "Oh, he obviously isn't worried" and went to bed. I am here sweating and scared. Quite obviously I am thinking "dementia". Maybe I am over-reacting. But I start to think about changes in my actions. I have been a lecturer for 40 years. Yes, I have started to be less dynamic in my speech, sometimes have to pause to think of what I am wanting to say. Also noticed that my usually impeccable touch-typing needs a quick check (Terry Pratchett said that was the first thing he noticed - his ability to touch type faltered).

Oh well, if I succumb to Alzheimer's disease I know where to come for help. I suppose I won't be alone in having a parent with Alzheimers and getting it myself. It is just a bit scary at age 57. I am over-reacting I hope.

Love to all

Margaret

Margarita

Feb 17, 2006
london
It is just a bit scary at age 57. I am over-reacting I hope

So sorry to read that . You must be in shock after reading that . May be your husband reacted like that , because its just a way of coping emotional.

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Dear Margaret

Well no one will blame you for "over reacting" if that's what it is. I don't think any of us would be happy to hear the words "deterioration" even if it is "non specific". How long will it take for you to see the neurologist do you think ?

Bookworm

Jan 30, 2009
Co. Derry
Trying to reassure