Reminyl and Aricept

ElaineW

Oct 18, 2012
Bristol
Could I share some experiences with others who have had their loved ones put on either Reminyl or Aricept? Mum has been taking Reminyl now for 3 weeks (only on one daily at the moment) but it is making her pretty sick more often than not. I have tried giving her the tablet on a morning and also at night but it makes no difference so very reluctantly I am going to have to stop them. The alternative was Aricept - which having read up about the side effects sickness is also a common problem here. Feeling very disappointed as it's my lifeline at the moment. Would be interested for any feedback with both medications.

jaymor

Jul 14, 2006
South Staffordshire
Hi, I have no knowledge of Reminyl, sorry. My husband has had Aricept from the day we were told of his diagnosis and had no problems at all. He has now been on it for well over 7 years.

Jay

hollycat

Nov 20, 2011
Mum tried ebixa/memantine for a couple of months but it made her angry.

Was put onto aricept and had a dizzy turn 2 weeks into medication. Came off aricept for 1 week, was then put back on it and has been fine ever since.

chris53

Nov 9, 2009
London
Hello Elaine, can only give you my mums experience of Aricept, she took it in the mornings(with her usual pills so she would not forget) and she did have a reaction after a few days, dizzy - confused, advised for mum to take it night and that worked, indeed it can be a lifeline if (apart from a few hiccups in first taking) it works as, it does not work for everyone and it can take a while to kick in:D
So good luck and hope you can get mum something that will not make her so sick.
Keep posting
Best wishes
Chris

Nebiroth

Aug 20, 2006
Don't be put off trying Aricept. The side effects you are worried about are common to all three of the types of this drug - they all work in approximately the same way, although the exact mechanism is slightly different. The leaflets will all say the same thing.