Project research for helping people with dementia remember to take medicine

smallcat

Mar 6, 2018
Hi there,

I'm a student currently working on a project that involves using advanced/smart textiles in order to improve people's well being or daily lives. I've chosen to focus on people living with dementia.

The idea is a solution for people forgetting to take their medicine. This would involve having a tiny speaker, tiny battery and a few other components embedded within the collar of a shirt or sweater hidden from view and not weighty. A family member or carer could choose a set time of the day for when the speaker would make a sound. This sound would either be a buzzer or a pre-recorded voice clip of a family member telling them that it's time to take their medicine as I thought something more familiar would be better.
The idea behind embedding this system within their clothes is that it can't be lost or forgotten like a mobile phone, and putting on clothes is something that is unlikely to be forgotten (from what I've gathered anyway).

I would love to know your opinions on this idea, any suggestions or criticisms welcome and finally any methods that you currently use to help family or friends with dementia remember to take their medicines.

Thank you for your time!

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @smallcat, welcome to TP.

That's a novel idea and I wish you well with the project. However, a major issue with many people with dementia is confusion/disorientation accompanied by anxiety. I would dread to think what the reaction would be if their clothes started talking to them.
There may also be a problem with moving the device from one item to another when washing is required.
Maybe others will be more positive.

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Hello @smallcat .

My dad can't be trusted to put his clothes on. Some days he does, others he wears his Jim jams or a mixture of both.