Prematurely moved to care home

Skid

Dec 2, 2017
Hi, I'm new to talking point and forums. My mum has a diagnosis of Alzheimer's and vascular dementia (mixed dementia). Dad died five years ago (2012) and without him around, we realised mum was having memory issues. NHS were not supportive and so we had a private diagnosis of early stage dementia. Mum has lived on her own until five weeks ago when she fell down stairs at my sister's house, breaking her clavicle and several ribs. We live far apart - Mum's in Essex, me Hampshire and my sister Wiltshire. We noticed a change in Mum's dementia earlier this year and she said she thought it had 'gone up a notch'. With advice from her GP, we decided to move her closer to me in Hampshire; she was happy with this and quite excited that we would finally be closer. However, she then had the accident and has been in hospital in Wiltshire until Thursday this week. Based on the hospitals advice and care needs assessment, we put her into a dedicated dementia care home on Thursday but it was evident, within 24 hours, that she isn't advanced enough in her dementia to be there and she is going stir crazy as the other residents are further ahead and she can't find a pal/stimulus. We know this is the perfect home for her in the future, just not yet, but that wasn't evident until she got there. I just don't know what to do and can't believe the experts at the hospital got it so wrong - I was at a distance which made it difficult to judge how she was, and Mum and my sister don't get on - my sister just kept telling me she was 'fried'. What to do now? Do we leave her where she is as she will need that care at some point or move her now? We are self funding but only for so long! The hone are being brilliant and have said they will assess her properly and help us place her in the right care. Mum is 76 and very young; she likes a night out with the girls, rock music, pizza/pasta, boogieing and I can only find care that caters for quieter souls