Power of attorney fatigue

LongDistanceCarer10

Jan 5, 2020
Hi
I've been managing my aunt's affairs for two years and one year ago she went into a care home. I'm also a keyworker so the last 12 months hasn't been much fun, even though I'm not on the clinical doing end of things myself. I'm finding my spare time is hugely taken up with my aunt's banking, preparing her home for rental, organising work and so on. There's so much admin it's like a second job and I'm so very weary of it now. Not to mention tax return, can't even think about that nightmare. All of this detracts from actually being able to travel to visit her or just try to talk on the phone. My siblings are further away, don't phone her either and although sympathetic, don't do anything to help. I can't take carer leave because I'm not actually her carer, and in any case I couldn't do that on a weekly basis, nor do I have spare annual leave.
My house is full of her papers and attic full of her ornaments etc!
With two teenagers to deal with as well, I'm feeling overloaded!
?

AwayWithTheFairies

Apr 21, 2021
Me too except it’s my mum and I have had to go to another country to sort her out. I’m not patient-facing but have a lot of work to do for the NHS and doing it all online is really exhausting and bloody boring too. Bit depressed today! I’m starting to feel really cheesed off! I don’t have any siblings so at least I don’t have that irritation, most of them sound like right bozos from what people write on here.

AwayWithTheFairies

Apr 21, 2021