Please .. advise for my mother

Sophie12345

Apr 3, 2018
Hello. I’m new to talking points , I’m wondering if anyone can maybe give me a bit of advise please ,my mum has vascular dementia. We moved her into live with us in December as losing my dad in September, they were together , I moved them closer to me in the August and dad passed in September. I stayed with my mum for a few months , she went to hospital as was poorly a couple of days after dad died. She stayed at our house for a couple of days after. But then wanted to go back to the new bungalow. In December , she said she hated it and wanted to come and live at mine. So that’s what I did. Emptied the house again and moved her in to ours. I’m now told by my brother , every time he visits , she wants to move to a flat by the seaside , feels suffocated here , my brother thinks she should , but with care ... I know she will be lonely. She can’t cook, won’t be able to find any new places .. I can’t reason with her. I just don’t know how to deal with this. ...

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @Sophie12345

If your brother will be able to take responsibility for your mother then the move may work. If not, I would keep your mother where she is.

Your mother`s health now is the best it will ever be. You know she will be lonely if she moves. You know she can't cook. You know she won't be able to find her way around.

If your brother arranges care, ask him how many hours your mother will be alone.

Please don't even try to reason with your mother . She is unlikely to be able to see your point of view.

Have a read of the following. It may help.

https://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/threads/compassionate-communication-with-the-memory-impaired.30801/

Tin

May 18, 2014
UK