Jul 30, 2008
    My wife is runnig with a phycosis as well as alzheimers anyone the same

2. gigi

gigi Registered User

Nov 16, 2007
    East Midlands
    Morning Ray,

Just wanted to welcome you to TP!

I have no experience of psychosis with Alzheimers..but I'm sure others have.

It's early yet...

Someone will be along soon.

Do you have any particular problems or issues..if so it may be helpful for you to give a little more detail..

TP is great place to find support and friendship to help us through these times.

Love gigi xx

3. Margarita

Margarita Registered User

Feb 17, 2006
    london
    #3 Margarita, Jul 31, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2008
    Yes

My mother has very disorganized thinking, hallucinations (because of medication) & delusions,changes in the way my mother describe her feelings, thoughts and perceptions. but it never come to the point that its acute.

Mum still has delusions, but it does not distress her as

It can beaming very frightening, leaving the person confused and distressed. Then with someone with a dementia, it be very hard for them to have any insight into what happening to them .

Is your wife becoming distressed about it .?

If it is, you can get a review in your wife Medical assessment, so getting treatment for it , if necessary.

Welcome to TP .

If you don't mind sharing what changes are you seeing in your wife that is worrying you about your wife ?

But if you don't want to share I understand, but please keep posting .

4. p34nut5

p34nut5 Registered User

Apr 17, 2008
    southampton hants
    phychosis

Hello,

Yes my mum has phychosis with her Alzheimers which manifests itself as delusions and hallucinations. These are the worst affects of the Alzheimer's for me because they are causing mum a lot of distress. The delusions make mum very frightened at times which is an awful thing to witness, especially when however hard I try to talk her out of it, it doesn't make any difference to her.