Photo Albums too much effort?

Cathy McStay

Nov 8, 2018
Hi, I am a final year product design student. I have been researching Dementia for 6 months now striving to come up with a product or service to help family care givers and people with Dementia make the most of the change after diagnosis. I think this platform itself is really great for all types of people interested or dealing with dementia.

Below are a few ideas I have been interested in and would appreciate some honest feedback:

• A To do list (bucket list - hate this terminology) prompt. This could be a blank list/s along with an example list of short term small things or long term larger things people may want to do before their time comes. My aim here is to provide a positive motivation to ‘live on’ and enjoy life whilst giving the family an idea of what the person with dementia would like to do. This could aid the grieving process also because if there are things the person didn’t get to do, the family could go ahead and do them as a ‘favour’, to the person with dementia.

• Secondly, I would like to come up with a product that cuts out any hassel with making memory photo books. This could be the combination of the polaroid camera function with instant prints as well as recordable sound bytes that can be attached to the pictures (in one product). These instant photos and sound bytes would then be stuck into a scrap book as a ‘work in progress’. The aim of this part of the pack would be to act as a hobby or ‘project’ for the person with dementia as well as remind them of these ‘recent’, times as the disease develops. When the person with dementia passes, this book will then act as memory book for the family care givers with high sentimental value as it will include photos and voice snippets from the person with dementia. This product would be designed so that it is simple to use.