Paying for care home advice

Kjn

Jul 27, 2013
Hi
I'm just trying to understand how this all works, as yet dad isn't in need of this ..but.. It may come some day.
Parents own the family home, been there 50yrs, dad has work pension coming in and his state, some isa that I know of, money kept aside for his care now. They would be self funding, would mum need to sell the house to pay for his ongoing care or is there any help towards it after a certain point/amount etc.
My gran went into care but had nothing , so mum and sister had to fund it, I'm new to all this so just some simple understanding of what ifs I'm trying to figure out.

Thanks for any advice.

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
If your mother remained in the marital home then she absolutely wouldn't have to sell it. It's disregarded for the purposes of calculating care contributions.

If your father (apart from the house) has assets of over approx £24K he would be self-funding. Anything less and the LA contributes. 50% of his occupational pension can be passed back to your mother if he has LA funding. The rest plus his state pension would be used to offset the LA funding.

Have a look at this http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=2710

Kjn

Jul 27, 2013
Great thanks Jennifer, very helpful. It looks like whether mum can afford to keep house going if dads savings,work pension and state is taken for his care as mum only on half state.
Many thanks. Hopefully won't come to this but having the information helps.

Saffie

Mar 26, 2011
Near Southampton
If your mum's income is quite low, once dad goes into care, then she should be assessed for pension credit.
Kjn's mother would be entitled to receive half her husband's occupational pension.
The LA financial assessor suggested that I forego this and apply for pension credit instead as I was only receiving a married woman's portion of the state pension plus a very, very low teacher's pension of around £100 a month.