patient confidentiality

shattered

Jul 18, 2013
This is my first ever posting and wonder if anyone has any advice to offer.
My partner is in an independent hospital and has been previously been on section 3 and is now in an advanced stage of dementia.
His daughter, to whom he is not very close has written to the consultant requesting details of his condition and prognosis.
When he had capacity he did not want her to have this information. I feel this is an infringement of his patient confidentiality and the Data Protection Act.
The consultant is taking legal advice on the subject as to whether he gives over the information. As POA I am feel I would be betraying his wishes.
Has anyone got any thoughts/advice?

Wirralson

Account Closed
May 30, 2012
Dear Shattered,

You are right that this is an area of law partly governed by the Data Protection Act 1998, and also by the Common Law of Confidentiality. I stress I'm not a lawyer, and in line with site rules you should regard this as comment from experience, not advice. In the NHS the consultant would have to seek advice from his NHS Trust's Information Governance Manager and possibly legal advisers and will inform the Caldicott Guardian (a senior clinician in the Trust who has undertaken specific information governance-related training and is the champion of patient confidentiality in the Trust. You say this is an independent hospital: they normally have similar arrangements although the terminology may differ, and they will possibly use a lawyer rather than an administrator as the equivalent of the Information Governance Manager. However this is a common situation, and is dealt with fairly frequently.