On going Problems with the office of the public guardian.

Flower 3

Mar 7, 2018
Hello everyone
I’m hoping I’m not the only one having on going problems with the office of the public guardian OPG. I have been caring for my father now for nearly two years who has Vascular Dementia and about a month ago now had a infarction stroke.
Ever since my father has lived with us I have been involved with the OPG being a deputy, the OPG who I must say is a waste of space, I am stressed enough caring for my father without the inadequate OPG to cope with as well. They have no empathy, just demand, loosing paper work I have sent in and then it turning up three months later, when speaking to members of there team on the phone who give me different information on how to go about situations I have. One telling me to put my dad into rest bite or take him to a day centre and leave him there for the day, sending me generated letters, we are all individuals and don’t need to receive useless letters making demands and telling me that if I don’t do anything they will strip me from the deputy ship ( is this just me that makes my blood boil).
Thank you for reading
Lilly

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @Flower 3

I have no experience of the OPG but can sympathise with your frustration.

It might help if you make an appointment with the Citizen`s Advice Bureau [ CAB ] to see if they can help you. I do know they have advocates who can represent people who are having difficulty dealing with public bodies.

Here is a link to help you find your local office.

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk

DesperateofDevon

Jul 7, 2019
Hello everyone
I’m hoping I’m not the only one having on going problems with the office of the public guardian OPG. I have been caring for my father now for nearly two years who has Vascular Dementia and about a month ago now had a infarction stroke.