OH giving the carers a hard time and wanting to come home

Old Flopsy

Sep 12, 2019
My OH has arrived at the care home but is being unco-operative- refusing food and demanding to go home to his wife and dog and cat- the dog died last year and the cat died in January.

But I was pleased that they had persuaded him into the garden this afternoon for a sit in the sun where he accepted a cup of tea.

I so hope that he will start to accept the situation soon, though the staff tell me it's nothing that they haven't come across before and he will settle in due course.

Such a worry.

LuciG

Nov 24, 2020
Hello @Old Flopsy , I hope you are OK. I don't have any advice I'm afraid as I'm quite new to all this myself. My mum went into full time care last year. You are right, it's a very worrying time but she is quite settled and has more up days than down, I hope it will be the same for your OH. Look after yourself x

Banjomansmate

Jan 13, 2019
Dorset
I was just wondering how things had gone today. Of course it is only to be expected that your husband is stroppy and put out, especially as he was expecting to come home. The Care Home staff will know how to handle everything that he throws at them (even if that is quite literally!) and will do their best to help him settle in.
You will be sitting at home worrying and fearing the worst while he could well be sleeping like a baby tonight! Have a cup of tea or glass of wine or whatever beverage suits the moment and try to relax.

Old Flopsy

Sep 12, 2019
Thankyou @LuciG and @Banjomansmate - I certainly am sitting here worrying.

If he is asleep he is in pyjamas for the first time in months- he used to refuse to change- but apparently he arrived at the care home in pyjamas!

Yes the home said they have 'seen it all before' but it upsets me as he hasn't been so stroppy with me- except when I nagged him into the shower.