Not sure how much longer I can cope

Shepherd123

Nov 19, 2013
I have been caring for my father-in-law for 3 years; he has a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s. In the last six months thing have got really stressful as I am trying to manage a full time job, family and care. I have recently got social services involved and now have carers coming in 3 times a day for meals and medication. This doesn't seem to have eased the stress any as I still have to sort out the daily problems my f-i-l is creating.
This week so far he has misplaced his bus pass, wallet, hearing aids, accused me of theft, touch me inappropriately as he now longer recognises me as daughter in law, but often says he's in love with me and had quite a few emotional and distressing moments. He is being changed next week from Aricept to Memantine 10mg as Aricept no longer working (he scored less than 10/30 in test). Does anybody know if this new treatment will help with aggression, anxiety, etc. Any advise welcome as not sure how much longer I can juggle care at home and work family commitments. As this morning he was at mine at 4.30am confused over his bank card, pin number!

:confused:

Noorza

Jun 8, 2012
No one can put a time limit on stages with any accuracy, I think you are amazing to have managed for three years, in all honesty I could not do that.

I think it may be a good idea to tell SS that you cannot cope with the current level of care being offered and you need a reassessment.

You may well need to be firm that you can't cope any more as from everything I've read if SS have a family member who is willing to carry on, they will let you. Think about how much you can give and be firm about that.

Respect to you for managing for so long, I couldn't do that.

Spamar

Oct 5, 2013
Suffolk