NFTs

Nefer

Aug 11, 2003
Tyldesley
I have been doing research work in ALS for many years and when I teamed up with Professor Nicolson in the States, we found that micro organisms were present in a significant number of Gulf War and civilian patients. This preliminary research was published in the Journal of Clinical Neuroscience.

However, an interesting thing is that there are neurofibrillary tangles (NFTs) in people with ALS, and on Guam, there are cases of several neurological illnesses occurring together with NFTs.

Although the pathology in Alheimers also has plaques, I am interested to find out if the NFTs are the same in ALS and Alzheimers. In another of my papers, I have found that what are called 'inclusion bodies' may provide some evidence for micro organisms which have entered the nervous system.

I know that this forum can't be used to recruit for research. This is just for information.

I am trying to get a university to help me with further lab work, but am finding it not very easy to get support.

I hope to contact the Alzheimer's Society to see if there is anyone who can help me further with this, as I think the NFTs might provide a valuable clue to aetiology. I am hoping to contact other researchers who are trying to stop the formation of amyloid and also NFTs.

One of the problems with new research substances is that they are not available for clinical use, mainly because of being untested. This is an area which I would like to discuss in the future - the possibility of having the chance to pioneer treatments this way.

Nefer

Aug 11, 2003
Tyldesley
options with new discoveries

This is an example of what I mean when something new is reported and you want to follow it up. I don't mean to pre-empt safety issues, but here is what happened when I wanted to try a new option, HSP27. Note the dead-end of the conversation. And the complete absence of any access channels for opening up the formation of any decision-making body re. the issue.