newly diagnosed father-in-law

scubamum

Feb 24, 2014
Hi my father in law has recently been diagnosed. However, they have not had any information regarding support other than attendance allowance .
Mother in law is just coping but doesn't know who to go to for advice and help. She did speak to someone at the local society but finds it impossible to talk about John whilst he is about, which is all the time now.I can see that she is exhausted as John is up from am every night. Should they be seeking help from social services or via the Gp?
My husband, their son, works abroad and I live a good 2 hours away so am being supportive by phone but am a loss myself as to how to advise.
Sorry if this is covered elsewhere, I am a newbie so am feeling my way here.

Pinkrupee

Feb 25, 2014
Support

Hi my father in law has recently been diagnosed. However, they have not had any information regarding support other than attendance allowance .
Mother in law is just coping but doesn't know who to go to for advice and help. She did speak to someone at the local society but finds it impossible to talk about John whilst he is about, which is all the time now.I can see that she is exhausted as John is up from am every night. Should they be seeking help from social services or via the Gp?
My husband, their son, works abroad and I live a good 2 hours away so am being supportive by phone but am a loss myself as to how to advise.
Sorry if this is covered elsewhere, I am a newbie so am feeling my way here.

Age UK are very helpful, good at giving advice, have a volunteer help service and can point you in the direction of other services and help available, including what you should be able to get from social services. Their website is ageuk.org.uk and advice number Age UK Advice:
0800 169 6565

bilslin

Jan 17, 2014
hertforshire