Newbie here. Joined due to my Grandad's dementia.

Carrie1984

Jun 18, 2016
Hi everyone.
Have been lurking for a few weeks and now joined as everyone seems so supportive.
My grandad is almost 90 and has had dementia / Alzheimer's for around the past 5 years, possibly longer. He went into a care home 2 years ago after stopping looking after himself completely.
Things had been going okay for him until 6 weeks ago. After being such an active man, he was much less mobile in the home but still able to get to the toilet by himself slowly but couldn't manage stairs etc. He only really recognises my mum and is limited to very few sentences now.
Anyway, 6 weeks ago he had a stomach bug (we think) and despite getting over the main symptoms, he ended up very weak and was taken to hospital with breathing difficulties. They couldn't find anything wrong but gave him oxygen in hospital and anti biotics to take home. We didn't feel he got the right care in hospital as he was so dehydrated and they gave up putting a drip into him. He also stopped eating completely. He now hasn't eaten a meal in over 6 weeks.

He was brought back to the home where, despite much better care, he continued to go downhill. He was listless and didn't want to leave his bed. He could barely move and his vision was deteriorating. The carers told my mum to expect the worst, she informed me (I live 70 miles away) and I traveled back to see him. He looked terrible and we (me, mum and sister) all thought he didn't have long.

I had to come back for work, and mum said he actually picked up a little in the following days (this is around 2 weeks ago).

Exactly a week ago he had a fall. They had taken him downstairs to sit in a chair by the window (where he used to sit) and he must have tried to get up and stumbled over. He was taken to hospital and was kept in until 2 days ago. He hadn't broken anything but was in pain and they put the catheter in place as he wouldn't /couldn't move.