New to this

Tititanwitch

May 6, 2019
Hi, I am new to this and could do with some advice please. My Dad was diagnosed with Alzheimers 15 months ago he is 82 and Mum is 83. Without wishing to sound unkind, I am struggling to understand how much of Dad's behaviour is due to his condition and how much is him giving himself permission to be a sod. He refuses to wash or shave but if he decides to leave the house he will clean his nails and comb his hair. He seems to be deliberately slow in getting ready to go to appointments so much so that he missed a recent doctors appointment. Due to his medication he is allowed 2.5 pints when he goes out and becomes argumentative when it's time to go home which Mum let's go for a quiet life. I do appreciate things are going to change I just need to understand how best to help them both. Thank you.

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @Tititanwitch you are welcome here and I hope you find the forum to be a friendly and supportive place.

These behaviours are all too common and it’s a truth that people wouldn’t have a diagnosis of dementia if their thinking and behaviors were unaffected. As communication may be a bit of an issue you might get some tips from the thread that can be reached by clicking the following link https://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/threads/compassionate-communication-with-the-memory-impaired.30801/

Do take a good look around the site as it is a goldmine for information. When I first joined I read old threads for information but then found the AS Publications list and the page where a post code search can be done to check for support services in ones own area. If you are interested in these, clicking the following links will take you there

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/get-support/publications-factsheets-full-list

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/find-support-near-you