New to this site! Angry, bitter and twisted!!!

vul885

Not sure why I am here really! My mother in law has dementia. I am a nurse and used to vist her at least once a week. About 4 years ago, I became increasingly concerned as she was forgetting lots of things etc. Her husband (a controlling bully) was still working full time at 78 not because he needed to financially at all so she was left all day 6 days a week on her own.

I pleaded with him to allow me to take her to the GP. After all the tests etc dementia was diagnosed. they lived in a big 6 bed house in the middle of nowhere. I asked if they wanted to move closer to us or we could move in with them or build a house near to help out. He didn't want us to do anything.

She was prescribed Aricept but kept on forgetting to take it as no one was monitoring her. To cut a long story short we have now moved abroad as I had a good job offfer. he now looks after her full time. However, she is like a lost sheep. He does not guide her in any which way or form. She just follows aimlessly behind him. I last saw her in Nove last year but my husband speaks to his dad twice a week on the webcam. She has lost half her body weight. He 'allows' a carer in every other day to attend to personal matters washing etc. She cannot do hardly anything independently apart from wander. She barely recongnises us.

He locks her in the bedroom when he does the gardening. She has been found three times 2 miles away from where they live.

I am just bitter that things could have been different. We could have lived nearby and helped manage her. He is the type of person that you only start eating when he does, you only sit down when he does. My husband has accepted this and does not complain! This is normal to him!

We are going to stay with them at Christmas time and i am dreading it.

What is the answer to a person like this??? I have never ever seen any affection between them in 20 years not even a 'peck on the cheek' .