New to this and just wanting a little moral support i suppose

Rach R

Mar 23, 2012
Hi as the title says I'm new to all this. My mum is about to be diagnosed ( April 18th we see a consultant) with some type of dementia. Origionaly my brother went to my mum's dr before Christmas to talk to him about mum and the Dr then got my mum in by saying she needed to come in for 'routine' tests. So far we have had very good support from a mental health nurse who came round and did the mini mental test - my mum 'scored' 17 and since then she has had a CT scan and a nurse going round each week just to chat to her. She is also trying to arrange for her to be assessed 'in house' for a day - not sure that my mum will go though. My mum is completely convinced there is nothinig wrong with her (apart from not remembering things occasionally)so trying to get help for her is difficult. Things were really brought home to me last week when the nurse called to say they could smell gas and my mum was completely oblious to this. So we've had to change her gas hob to a new one that automatically cuts out if the flame goes out. this was a really hard thing to do as mum was totally against it and couldn't see a problem at all as she was now "checking it all the time". I wanted to cry when i had to tell her she had no choice as she smokes and lives in a very built up area. I'm scared of her being told what is wrong with her but feel she needs to know. My mum lives on her own but my brother is only round the corner but it feels like things are only going to get worse and i feel so bad but i can't go round everyday as i work full time and have 3 children. i phone her everyday and try to meet her for in my dinner hour - we go to a local pub for lunch evry couple of weeks.
Anybody who can offer any support would be much appreciated!

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello Rach