New to Dementia & being a carer

Tell

Jun 20, 2011
Bedford
Hello All

I am new to all this so please forgive me if I ask stupid questions!

My mother in law has Dimentia and I have decided to become her carer by giving up work (or at the very least going part time so that I can spend time with her). We live in the Bedford area and was wondering if anyone out there knows of any groups we can attend together so that we can work on getting her mentally stimulated as at the moment she just sits at home alone most of the time and thats just not right as she is still capable of enjoying her life with a little help. If there are no groups out there has anyone got any other suggestions? I have a weeks unpaid leave next week and I really want to pack her week with fun things we can do together.

I look forward to hearing from someone.
Chants:)

Jo1958

Mar 31, 2010
Yorkshire
Chants, hello and welcome to Talking Point.

I would contact your local Alzheiner's Society and see what events, cafes, facilities, etc, they have to offer that you could take part in.

We have a Carers' Project around here which is part of the local council so I'd get in touch with your council or look on their website for anything going on around you, they are a very good contact for all sorts of events, help and support.

I hope you have a good week together and look forward to hearing what you get up to!
With best wishes from Jo

Tell

Jun 20, 2011
Bedford
Hiya Jo

Many thanks for your reply!

I am looking forward to it a little nervous, and under very strict instructions from her doctor to take her to many cafes etc as we need her to put on weight they are trialling her on the drug 'Aricept' but it appears to be surpressing her apetite she has gone from 6St10 to a very low 6St1lb which is really worrying, she has never been big but her apetite had always been healthy so its very sad to see.