sooty

Feb 17, 2007
Nova Scotia Canada
Hello
I am new to talking point and this is my first post. my mother has dementia and I live in Canada her only living relative. Living so far away, yet having to get daily care and support for her has not been easy, but thanks to her social worker and her housing support officier I have been able ot do a lot over the phone. I was home to the uk in October and plan to go back in May . She has a geriatric assessment in March. The next step will be to take her car away as she should not be driving. She is very resistant to this, but has had some little knocks. Hopefully the assessment will enable me to proceed with this. Two questions. Do you have a forum for relatives who live away and secondly how can I go about taking away the car when the time comes in the easiest poosible way for both of us as I predict arguments, major resistance, anxiety and threats from her. It is a topic that is very touchy right now with friends and neighbours.. everytime the phone rings here in Canada I wonder if she has had a crash. The DVLA cannot do anything until the doctors asessment . Carole

I've moved this to the main forum as Hazel suggested.

Brenda

Last edited by a moderator:

Skye

Aug 29, 2006
SW Scotland
Hi Carole

Welcome to TP.

I think you would get more replies if you posted a new thread in the main forum Maybe a moderator would move this for you.

There isn't a specific forum for overseas members, but there are a few. If you look up Jenniferpa in the members list you will find she has similar problems to you, though she is in the States.

Regarding your Mum's car, her GP can write to DVLA and say he thinks her unfit to drive. You can write to them yourself, but they would want confirmation from the GP. I don't envy you, I had tremendous problems when my husband was told he was not to drive any more.

Good luck,

Tender Face

Account Closed
Mar 14, 2006
NW England
Welcome to TP, Carole.

sooty said: