My old desk top pc has just passed away!

llamedos

Apr 16, 2009
My old desk top pc has just passed away - everything that could go wrong has done so over a few weeks - its been a faithful friend for the past 15 years, so I realise its time to say goodbye - however, what do I replace it with?

I must admit to being more than a bit brassed off with the changes in windows that come around at regular intervals.

Each time windows make a change, some part of my pc starts behaving oddly, or refuses to accept my software. Does apple systems do the same?

Recently, I have been talking with friends who use the Applemac pc's, and they seem to be quite happy with the apple system.

I would appreciate it if members could post their views - good or bad, on both windows and apple systems - this would help me greatly as I am no expert on pc's.

Also, are the two systems compatable for data - for example if I save some work on my windows lap-top - can I transfer it using a memory stick for example to an apple pc?

Brucie

Jan 31, 2004
near London
I've pondered your questions since I first laid hands on a Mac 20 years ago, and I have always made the decision to stay with Windows-based systems.

Primary things to consider:

1. money. Mac laptops are generally just over twice as much in cost to buy

2. type of portable system. Apple does not make netbooks, if you want a small system. I have just bought a netbook for use on holidays and I would have bought an Apple, but the cost of a good Windows system was £300, and the nearest MacBook was £800 and that was a 13" system, not a netbook.