My grandfather has dementia

Effy_

Feb 17, 2015
Hello, I was wondering if anyone could answer a few questions. (I'm new to this and don't really know how this works, so sorry if I'm doing it wrong). I'm 16 years old and my grandfather has dementia. I don't know how far along he is but it's gotten so bad that sometimes he doesn't know who I am and he comes up with scenarios in his head that are completely bizarre. He's currently staying with me and my family (mum dad and 9 year old brother) because my grandmother is finding it difficult to look after him. I'm extremely close to my grandfather, but everytime I talk to him I just want to cry because he doesn't know who I am, or even if he does I can't have normal conversations with him anymore. Sometimes I don't know what to do or say, do I correct him when he says my mother lives in nothern Ireland? Or do I just let him believe that even though she's in the same house as him? What can I do to help? What do I do or say? I feel useless and selfish when he's the one with demntia and I'm sat here healthy and fit. Please help

Saffie

Mar 26, 2011
Near Southampton
Hello Effy and welcome to Talking Point.
I hope the following thread will help you with communicating with your grandfather.
It's often difficult to know how we should react to the things that someone with dementia will say that we know are untrue. The general advice is to go along with it but at the same time try to reassure them if what they are saying is making them frightened or unhappy.
An example is when my husband used to think that people were trying to attack him as it would obviously not be helpful for me to have agreed with him so I reassure him the he was safe and I would protect him.

Do come back here if you want to know anything else and good luck.

http://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/show...ionate-Communication-with-the-Memory-Impaired

Pumpkin12

Oct 16, 2014
Hi there welcome to TP :)