My gran and POA

Kim2610

Jul 4, 2018
Hi everyone newbie here ,

Really hoping you guys can give me some advice ! I have a situation with my gran and her daughter having POA . My gran has the early stages of vascular dementia . She lives alone and has carers in . Considering strokes in November she is doing amazing :) . My problem is she has been asking for access to her bank account since December ! She has been told she cannot go to the bank and her daughter has all her books and cards . I have been told that a lawyer told her she was only to have £10 loose change at a time and today was told the doctor now said she has only to have £5 on her at anytime ?!!! Now surely this cannot be right ? She is completely aware of what’s going on . She Gave up driving last year and relys on family to take her out but even on days out to shops etc she never has money to buy anything ! She has started telling other family members and the carers what’s been going on .
Is this correct that because the daughter has power of attorney she can completely cut her Mum off from her own bank ? She told us we couldn’t take our gran to the bank because there’s a note on the system not to give her money as she is now POA ? She’s living alone independently I’m struggling to see how this is fair on my gran ? I just want advice before we take this further . Thank you for reading abc for any advice you all can give :) x

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @Kim2610, welcome to TP. I hope you find the forum a friendly, informative and supportive place.
The situation you outline seems beyond the pale to me, especially if your gran still has capacity. I simply cannot believe that either a lawyer or doctor would say such things. Are you sure of the facts?