my dad

maxine

May 21, 2003
east london
hello there...... I am new to this so if i havent worded things properly i apologize......My dad who is 58...was diagnosed in october 02 ...having Alzheimers/vasculer dementia.....we knew over time that things were not right with my dad, and it took a while to actually get him seen to......now we have had the results and it has come as a total shock i was in denial up until 2 weeks ago and i find it hard to handle the situation as do my sister, brother and mum, we are coping the best we can but are finding very hard, as my dad has been the rock in our family, all i can say that to acept this is hard but to ignore it is worse, i have realised that time is very precious to us now, and we are doing things we should have done along time ago like spending lots of time enjoying eachothers company, and it kills me when i get home because all i can think of is my dad, but we'll keep going all the way in making my dad's life a happy and enjoyable one .....maxine

Charlie

Apr 1, 2003
Hi Maxine,

You are doing things exactly right. This is an open discussion forum and that is exactly what you are doing ;-)

I can totally empathise with your situation. My father was diagnosed about 2 years ago now but the symptoms were noticable maybe over 6 years ago and the whole family was in denial. My dad even now does not discuss his dementia openly which is very hard to handle, but its his choice.

However, on the positive side, we all still have a lot of happy times and he is particulary attached to my 4 year old daughter, to watch them together is a joy. Although dad has a lot of difficulty with day to day living now, he still has a high quality of life and its is just a case of trying to focus on the positive things and the things that he now enjoys. For example, his practical hobbies are just too frustrating for him now, but he now has a lot of time for people, so we actually get to see a lot of dad.