Mum has been prescribed Risperidone

fionajane

Nov 21, 2013
Hi there,
Mum was diagnosed with Az a year ago. Although she's been fairly settled on Aricept, she does experience the odd terrible bout of psychosis - imagining men in her house, becoming horribly distressed and barricading herself in house. She had a really bad episode over Christmas and her psychiatrist has now prescribed Risperidone.

Am just a bit worried about this, reading about side effects, increased risk of strokes, etc. Am also not sure Mum can take her meds reliably (I think her episodes might be connected to forgetting her Aricept) and don't want her to start taking it until we have some home care in place to supervise this. She lives alone.

Just wondered if anyone has experience of caring for someone who's been prescribed this drug, and if there's anything I should be aware of when Mum starts taking it?

Many thanks

CJinUSA

Jan 20, 2014
eastern USA
Hello. I'm not a professional by any means, but having taken care of my mother and monitored her drugs for 7 years, 6 of them with pretty powerful drugs, I just wondered this, based on what you have said in your message -

If you conceive it possible that the erratic behavior might result from your mother's not taking the Aricept regularly, might it be possible to hold off on the new drug til the carer is in place and can see to the proper regular taking of Aricept? This might be a useful option for you to consider?

Just a thought.

lulubel

Oct 17, 2013
Co Durham
Sorry, fionajane, no experience with this drug, but I know someone will be along soon that does. Very best wishes....xx

FifiMo

Feb 10, 2010
Wiltshire
My mother was on risperidone. We called it the miracle drug in our house. She went from an anxious, agitated, hallucinating individual, to a sweet little old lady. I believe that it was also much more acceptable to her also as it cannot be pleasant being under stress of all the agitation before.