Movement problems for frontotemporal sufferer

DRS

Nov 26, 2020
My wife has frontotemporal dementia which impedes leg movements. She has not been able to get in and out of a bath for some months, but can walk well on level ground but today was completely stuck on walking up stairs, just saying she coudn't move, as was the case. When I helped and lifted her to crawl the last 4 steps she not stand up. A friend and I managed to get her upright after half an hour. I haven't yet talked to the GP but should be grateful to learn of experiences with stair lifts for dementia patients. I imagine that with this progressive disease there could be problems fairly soon in using even a chair lift.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @DRS. Welcome to Dementia Talking Poinbt. I hope you will find it helpful and supportive.

I have no experience of a stair lift but my husband who had Alzheimer`s also had difficulties understanding how to use his legs.
We don`t have stairs but when I had grab rainls installed to help his balance, he would move his hands along the rail while his feet remained unmoving . The same happened when he was introduced to a walking fram. He would push the frame forward while his feet and legs stayed where they were.

I hope you get some comments about using stair lifts. It`s a bit late now, so maybe tomorrow.

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Welcome to the forum @DRS.