Mother thinks I’m two people

Preciousdaisybear

Jan 2, 2020
Hello, newbie here looking for advice and/or strategies. My mother, who I see pretty much every day, thinks that I am not her daughter even though “you look and sound like her”. I have tried explaining over and over again that the person in her mind and me are one and the same but she just can’t grasp it. Clearly my approach isn’t working and I wondered if anyone had any ideas I could try. Thanks

margherita

May 30, 2017
Italy, Milan and Acqui Terme
The wisest advice I have read here on TP is " never argue, never explain".
Trying to make a PWD reason is useless.
I let my husband think whatever he wants, unless it brings dangerous consequences.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Its called Capgras syndrome and its very common in dementia. Whatever you do or say is not going to convince her that you are who you say you are and trying to do will probably just make her angry. It is very sad, but you will probably have to go along with whoever she thinks you are. It is even worse when she is asking for you and cannot understand that you are standing right in front of her.

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
My mum suffers from this from time to time. Last Christmas she thought my sister in law and her sister were both themselves and the hired help. She usually knows I'm someone important, though I'm not always her daughter. She sometimes talks about me in the third person, which is weird, but I try to answer as me and gloss it over.
As @margherita said never explain or argue, but just change the subject if you can. Tricky I know.

Jaded'n'faded

Jan 23, 2019
High Peak