Mother now moved to LA Care services - some money matters.

happyhacker

Aug 11, 2014
This seems quite complicated. I have had a letter from the NHS fully funded service to say it ends in a few weeks (as a result of a review). As I understand it the Care Home send all the bills to me. There seems to be a Nurse fee to be paid to the Home for £112 (statutory). Presumably this reduces any Care Home fees payable. Is the LA Care Service supposed to initiate a financial assessment with me as I need to know how to handle all these bills especially when the amount she has goes below the threshold?

Thanks.

lin1

Jan 14, 2010
East Kent
Sorry I have no experience with this, others here do and I'm sure they will be along soon.
I just wanted to give your post a bump up to the top

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
"Is the LA Care Service supposed to initiate a financial assessment with me as I need to know how to handle all these bills especially when the amount she has goes below the threshold?"

If she is approaching the £24250 threshold contact the LA yourself and ask for a financial assessment, remember that funds can deplete very fast when self funding.

Also apply for Attendance Allowance as this can be paid when self funding, you may even be able to get the eligibility proven whilst still CHC funded so that she can start receiving it when she becomes self funded.

happyhacker

Aug 11, 2014
"Is the LA Care Service supposed to initiate a financial assessment with me as I need to know how to handle all these bills especially when the amount she has goes below the threshold?"

If she is approaching the £24250 threshold contact the LA yourself and ask for a financial assessment, remember that funds can deplete very fast when self funding.

Also apply for Attendance Allowance as this can be paid when self funding, you may even be able to get the eligibility proven whilst still CHC funded so that she can start receiving it when she becomes self funded.