MIL with mixed dementia living with us causing strain

Camilla1

May 19, 2021
Hi, I'm new here. My 92 year old mother in law has been living with us for 2 years and was given a diagnosis of mixed dementia yesterday. I am not surprised by this as her memory and confusion has been deteriorating for a while, more so over the last year. She is very difficult to live with and takes all her frustrations out on me as I'm not her daughter. She adores my husband who is out at work every day. I have been working from home since the pandemic and I have a career in the NHS. I have a teenage daughter and we have 3 dogs. My mother in law moans about me to her other children about how bored she is. I work full time so I can't entertain her all day. I have been accused of stealing from her, she gets annoyed at me, tells my husband that I have been calling her names (which I would never do). I'm a health professional and I know it's her condition but that doesn't make it any easier to live with. She is warm, well fed, has her medications and has the stimulation of living in a busy house. When she lived on her own nearer her daughter she lost 2 stone in weight as she wasnt feeding herself properly or taking her medications, her house was dirty, she was incontinent and she would go days without seeing anyone. We lived quite a few miles away so in the end we decided to move her in as she would have ended up dead. However with the amount of strain this is causing and I would never say this to my husband but I wish we had never taken her in. I have a very stressful job, I'm doing an MSc in my 'spare time' and I'm running a house and bringing up my 13 year old daughter. I feel like I have taken into my home a miserable grumpy woman who doesn't appreciate anything that is done for her. Her other children barely call her but they are all wonderful of course! I sorted out her incontinence issues, arranged for carers to come in each morning to help her shower as she was refusing to get washed