MemRabel 2 Memory Prompt Calendar Clock

RBDansk100

Oct 7, 2020
Has anybody used this.? Thinking of using for my 93 year old Mum. Be grateful for any information. Dennis.

Rosettastone57

Oct 27, 2016
Welcome to the forum. I have no personal experience of this clock, but how effective it is will depend on how advanced the dementia is . My mother in law had a clock which showed her the days ,but as the disease progressed, she lost the initiative and capacity to even look at it. Even if it had had some sort of alarm she would have ignored it or forgotten why the alarm was there.

Kazzab

Aug 17, 2020
Hi
I bought my Mum a chalk board which we write on every day so she can see at a glance what day it is and what she is doing each day. It seems to help at the moment, but obviously someone has to update it each day.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
These sort of things are useful in the early stages, but there comes a time when all the dementia clocks, alarms, whiteboards, post-it notes and laminated notices do not make a jot of difference as they are all ignored.

When that time comes, what they need is an actual person there telling them things.

Jaded'n'faded

Jan 23, 2019
High Peak
Also, the person needs to be able to understand what they are seeing. My mum lost the ability to tell the time, but more importantly, time had no meaning for her anymore. I got her a digital clock and she could see that it said, for example, 2.30 pm. She'd then ask if that was 2 in the morning or in the afternoon. Darkness or daylight made no difference - she just couldn't understand what time meant anymore.

She dismantled and broke (beyond repair) a couple of little clocks I bought her.

Weasell

Oct 21, 2019
I have got one.
As a day clock it is simply beautiful, nice size clear display, mum still uses it.
I have used the reminders but don’t bother now.
The reminders I used were ‘are the doors and windows closed’
Have you taken your medication.