Lost and confused

TraceyLG

Feb 21, 2018
Nr Torquay Devon
Hi, I’m totally new to this so I apologise if this is in wrong ‘area’, inappropriate or incorrect in any way. I also apologise for rambling, I just need help please.
My beautiful 80 year old Mum was diagnosed 12 months ago and thankfully her decline has been extremely slow (or so I think).
She fell 2 weeks ago and was taken into hospital with suspect heart attack. I live in Devon, my mums in Northamptonshire. Obviously I rushed up immediately - gaining several speeding tickets I shouldn’t wonder!
As soon as I mentioned she had dementia they started treating her like a child. She had been in several wards: 3 times they moved her yesterday. The latest one is horrendous. The others on her ward are in the extreme state of dementia. Mums convinced they have moved her there to die. And if they don’t help her soon: she will be right. She had completely given up and wants to be with my dad who passed away 10 years ago.
I’ve tried to get a care plan started before I have to return home but am literally being pushed from pillar to post. I’ve visited several homes and have been told I need to wait for the go ahead from the hospital.
I tried to explain to the consultant, junior doctor and a ward sister that Mum is completely terrified and was begging me to bring her home. I asked them please that they needed to help her.
I was quite literally bullied into a corner with three of them talking at me all at once, and was told in no uncertain terms she was safe where she is, she couldn’t go anywhere as she hadn’t got the mental capacity to make that choice. The consultant even went as far as shaking the doors at me to show they were locked. All I wanted was for them to explain to Mum, gently, that she couldn’t go yet as she was still poorly. Instead, all she could see was her very upset daughter being shouted at by 3 aggressive people. I was even told my attitude and being upset wasn’t helping Mum.