losing driving licence question

carolinecarer

Dec 3, 2009
North Yorkshire
I'm new to talking point. Our mil has just had driving licence revoked and taken it really badly. She cannot understand why. Taken her to drs to explain but she has obviously forgotten and now each day we are getting calls and abuse that we have stopped her. She and we are obviously distressed although understand why and don't disagree now with decision. The question is this, do we now just keep saying we've taken your car for the moment as they have taken your licence for now and will review in a month and keep saying that! Radical I know but it's been suggested by someone as a way to reducing the stress to both her and us as everyday she goes over the same conversation and obviously her short term memory is so bad she can't remember the reasons why etc, not that she agrees anyway obviously. Thank you in advance. Just mulling over different things!

Noorza

Jun 8, 2012
You have done the right thing, blame the DVLA, say they were snooping spying, they took it and you are angry with them too. Then do nothing to help her get it back. Try to divert her temper to the DVLA because she needs you even though she doesn't realise it right now. It's a common thing with dementia sorry.

greatmeadow

Aug 22, 2013
Worcester