Labels and Jargon

smarty pants

Nov 14, 2007
Wirral but Dad in Wales
Hiy'all
I find myself in a sea of Labels and Jargon!!
During this past week alone I have been called "carer", "manager", "agent", "banker" to name but a few - none of which I have ever considered and as each one hit me I felt lower and lower! This is just the start of it all and I ask myself how I can be all these things and still remain loving daughter?
As for the jargon I am learning quickly - SS, Social Services; SW, Social Worker; CPN ?; etc. Is there a jargon buster on this site anywhere? If not it could be useful.
Anyway, everyone, I am new to this but also want to give back to this site as I use it. If I can be of help then just let me know how and if it is within my capabilities I will gladly contribute.

Last edited:

Margarita

Feb 17, 2006
london
someone at mum day centre intruded me as '' This is Isabel carer ''

I said no I am her daughter .

I have found after looking after mum that I have lost being her daughter and am now her carer in people perception of me looking after her .

Then on a TV interview someone said that once they in care home you became the daughter or wife again because your looking after they emotion side more , rather then all they physical side.

Me I just feel I'll always be my mother daughter , No one can take that away from me, with they labeling that they perceptions how they perceive it not mine :)

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Dear Margarita,
You are your mother`s daughter and you care for her. You will always be her daughter and you will always care for her.
Love xx

Tender Face

Account Closed
Mar 14, 2006
NW England
..... none of which I have ever considered and as each one hit me I felt lower and lower!