Jargon and acronyms.......grrrrr!

Juba

Jul 27, 2019
Hi,
I'm relatively new to Taking Point having joined a few weeks ago. I'm living with my husband who is living with early onset dementia. I'm finding the forum really useful and a massive relief to know that other people are experiencing similar problems to the ones we're grappling with.

However, I get stumped by some of the acronyms - OH is the particular bug bear at the moment . What does it mean?
I'm also pretty sure (??) that I read that there was/is a list of jargon and acronyms people use but can't place it - can someone help me?
Thank you :)

Rosettastone57

Oct 27, 2016
Hi,
I'm relatively new to Taking Point having joined a few weeks ago. I'm living with my husband who is living with early onset dementia. I'm finding the forum really useful and a massive relief to know that other people are experiencing similar problems to the ones we're grappling with.

However, I get stumped by some of the acronyms - OH is the particular bug bear at the moment . What does it mean?
I'm also pretty sure (??) that I read that there was/is a list of jargon and acronyms people use but can't place it - can someone help me?
Thank you :)
OH is other half, I think.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
That link worked fine for me @Beate :)

OH = other half.
I use this alot because I try to be as anonymous as possible and this term doesnt stipulate whether I am married or not (it also doesnt stipulate gender, although my details show that I am female and I refer to OH as "he").

Everywhere has its own jargon @Juba , but Im sure that you will soon get used to the common ones. I think the link that Beate gave is pretty comprehensive, but if there is anything else, just ask.

northumbrian_k

Volunteer Host
Mar 2, 2017
Newcastle