Is it normal for someone with Alzheimers to not tell the truth when asked a question?

Freddo

Oct 13, 2014
The Yorkshire Dales
Hello, I'm new to this and wonder if anyone can help answer my question...Mum was diagnosed about a year ago with early stage Alzheimers, she's in her late 80's. I was her main carer at home but after several falls I managed to get Mum into a flat in sheltered accommodation and after a fraught move she actually loves her new flat. Carers visit three times a day to prompt getting up, meals and meds but I have responsibility for all her shopping and day to day needs.
I visit once to twice a week in the evening (work full time) and do her cleaning. I ring her every evening but I am totally frustrated at Mums ability to answer yes to every question I ask her! I ask if she has posted the card I got for her to send, she says yes - my next visit I find it sat on the table unwritten. I ask if she has been for a walk, she tells me yes, I see the notes from the carers and they've been unable to get her out of her chair!
Is this normal to tell loved ones what they want to hear? How do I learn to cope with this behaviour? Any one with any experience of this able to give me some tips please, it's heartbreaking and annoying at the same time?:rolleyes:

Last edited:

stanleypj

Dec 8, 2011
North West
Hello Freddo, and welcome to TP.

I'm sure most members will have experienced this or read about it. It's not uncommon.

I don't know that it's very useful to talk or think of it as 'not telling the truth' as this would normally imply a deliberate lie. Of course people living with dementia can lie, just like other people, but other explanations are probably more likely:

The question may not have been properly understood.
The person may just have decided that the proper thing to do is to give the answer that seems to be wanted.
The person may not remember and just opt for yes or no randomly.