Instant course ... trainer to carer... any one else had post grad learning in reality

Lori

Mar 14, 2005
Far south West
Hi guys,

I am a long experienced social worker and consultant in care... but boy did I have a lot to learn when I cared for my Dad for 3 months with memory issues... anyone else find this? He is also helping me as he is writing his experiences down 'while he still can'

He even gave the nurses an A4 paper he wrote in the ward on the care of a man in his ward who was not helped... (he needed prompting) ... and so dehydrated...

I am proud to be his daughter and now see why I have such a passion for care.

Has anyone else found that we can learn from our folks?

Lori

Padraig

Dec 10, 2009
Hereford
Yes, one could learn a great deal from those of us who have traveled the complete journey in 'caring'. Sadly many ex-carers don't wish to look back on the constant lack of knowledge displayed by those in the medical profession.

I ask myself; can it be that they don't wish to admit that anyone who has cared for a loved one on their own 24/7, 365 days for years till the end, might just have gained a deeper knowledge they don't have from their 'training'?

NeverGiveUp

May 17, 2011
I have found that many people in the nhs are working with dementia patients because there aren't jobs in other roles, they might be students studying for something else and need to earn some money to study. All sorts of reasons, none of the reasons were that they were doing that job because they care about people with dementia.

Dementia is the Cinderella, problem is that it is treated as the ugly sister. No matter how much training people are given, if they don't want to be doing that job they will never develop the empathy needed.