Incontinence

JJLizzie

Feb 19, 2021
Hello, this is my first time posting. My mum has Alzheimer's, and my dad looks after her really well. I have just started noticing that she is having accidents in bed, and when I go to their house to change the bed sheets, there are often wet stained knickers on the radiator. I've asked her if she is having any accidents and she says no, so I just change the sheets and take away the dirty knickers and buy her new ones. It's becoming more and more, and I don't know how to deal with it. If she doesn't think she has a problem, and because I don't live there I don't know what is going on. Any advice would be great, really struggling with how to deal with it, and don't want to upset my mum.

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Welcome to the forum @JJLizzie.

I’m sorry you’re going through this with your mum just now. Sadly you will find that many members are coping with the same problem. Normally I would suggest that you see if you could get your mum’s GP to refer her to the continence service or continence nurse at the practice. I’m not sure how this would work during the pandemic though.

Would it be possible to get some of the continence pants which look like real knickers and see if she would be willing to wear these?

You’ll find some information about continence issues in this factsheet -

I’m glad you’ve found the forum and know you will get lots of help and support here.

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Welcome to DTP @JJLizzie

Has your mum seen the GP as she could have an infection causing the problem so it could clear up when treated. If this is the start of incontinence then your parents could buy some Kylie sheets to protect the bed - these are absorbent pads that fit over the normal sheets and catch any leeks so the whole bed doesn't need changing incase of an accident.