In hospital, hitting staff- any experiences with Risperidone?

Lisa74

May 27, 2011
Hello,

My Granny is in hospital with a fractured bone in her back. She has been prescribed Risperidone (an anti-psychotic) due to her aggressive behaviour- does anyone have any experiences with this medication? She has heart problems and we're concerned it's causing side effects including tachycardia and agitation.

Aitchbee

Nov 3, 2013
Hi Lisa. I have no experience of Respiradone but my Mum lashed out at staff when she was admitted to hospital. Probably because she was suffering from a UTI and also because she didn't understand what was happening to her and was frightened. I would hope that your Granny has been checked for a UTI? I would discuss your concerns with the consultant (you can request an appointment to see them). I hope you can get something sorted and have your mind put at rest

Beate

May 21, 2014
London
I get so annoyed when I hear anti-psychotics being described for people with dementia. They are bad for them, should only be used as a last resort and for a limited amount of time. Has she been checked out properly for any infections of other conditions that might be causing her pain? Or are they just trying to keep her sedated the convenient way?

doodle1

May 11, 2012
I'm sorry Beate to have to disagree with you.
Mum was put on Risperadone 18 months ago as she was agitated and trying to hit my dad all the time. She is on the smallest dose. It has been transformational . Please consider trying this. It has improved everyone' s quality of life
Hope this helps

Beate

May 21, 2014
London
I'm sorry Beate to have to disagree with you.
Mum was put on Risperadone 18 months ago as she was agitated and trying to hit my dad all the time. She is on the smallest dose. It has been transformational . Please consider trying this. It has improved everyone' s quality of life
Hope this helps