I'm new to talking point but my dad has dementia

CHL579

May 18, 2019
Hey I'm new to talking point but my dad has Dementia and was just wondering if I can give any or receive any advice. My dad has had it for a couple of years but recently had a stay in hospital for a couple of weeks and he seems to have deteriorated slightly. I was just wondering if anyone else has seen a change after a hospital stay?

L..

May 18, 2019
Hi CHL579
I'm new too, My mum and dad both have dementia. I think any change can be quite disorienting for pwd and a hospital stay is a big change. Your dad might need to readjust back into his surroundings again. It's sometimes hard to know whether a deterioration is permanent or not as pwd tend to have good and bad days/ periods of time, I guess just like the rest of us.

nellbelles

Volunteer Host
Nov 6, 2008
leicester
Hello @CHL579 and welcome to the forum
I think any change of surroundings can be difficult for a PWD I hope he soon settles back in at home I hope now you have found us you will continue to post for support.

nellbelles

Volunteer Host
Nov 6, 2008
leicester
Hello @L.. and a warm welcome to you also.
That’s good advice that you posted, it must be difficult for the family having both Mum and Dad with dementia I hope you will find the forum a source of information and and support.

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @CHL579 and @L.. and welcome here from me too. I hope you both find the forum to be a friendly and supportive place.

I hope you both have time to take a good look around the site as it is a goldmine for information. When I first joined I read old threads for information but then found the AS Publications list and the page where a post code search can be done to check for support services in ones own area. If you are interested in these, clicking the following links will take you there

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/get-support/publications-factsheets-full-list

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/find-support-near-you